Hey! Look me over…tell me do you like what you see

Did anyone catch the halftime show with Prince?  He always puts on such a great performance, but THIS one took the cake.  It was in the pouring RAIN! It couldn’t have been more fitting…Prince singing “Purple Rain” in a downpour.  Ya know, if they were GOOD event coordinators, they would have figured out a way to infuse the rain with the color purple.  Am I asking too much?

The show started off with Prince whispering “dearly beloved…” and seriously people, who DOESN’T know the following line!  It was drowned out by me screaming from my couch “we are gathered here today to get through this thing called life!”  Towards the end of the song, a marching band joined him.  Very cool….  

captsb26602050134super_bowl_halftime_football_sb266.jpg

He went on to a medley, which included “Proud Mary” by Creedence Clearwater Revival, “Baby I’m a Star (one of MY personal faves), All Along the Watchtower by Bob Dylan, but made popular (in my eyes) by Jimi Hendrix, and “Best Of You” by the Foo Fighters.  This was decorated with extravagant guitar solos.

It ended, of course, with (as I mentioned above) him singing Purple Rain.  For most artists, the pouring rain would have been a serious damper.  For Prince it was the best stage prop EVER.  To see him singing “you say you want a leader, but you can’t seem to make up your mind.  I think you better close it..and let me guide you…to the purple rain” with rain pouring down his face was seriously ironic…..

And no WARDROBE malfunctions!

  • Post title lyrics from “Baby I’m a Star” by Prince
One Response to “Hey! Look me over…tell me do you like what you see”

  1. I enjoyed the heck out of it myself. I’ve always felt that Prince was a vastly underrated guitarist and yesterday reinforced that point. His voice sounds smooth as ever.

    The marching band and the go-go girls dancing next to him were a distraction imo. But it was the best half-time Super Bowl show in a long time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

